Welcome to Dollar Stretcher Community Sign in | Join | Help
in Search

Rainy Day Cash

Last post Wed, Dec 24 2008 4:11 PM by billea. 6 replies.
Page 1 of 1 (7 items)
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • Mon, Dec 1 2008 2:08 PM

• karen604
    • Top 200 Contributor
    • Joined on Mon, Sep 10 2007
    • Colorado
    • Posts 151

Rainy Day Cash

Several years ago I cam across a magazine article that asked if it was possible to put $2 a day away. I thought about it and decided to combine it with the idea of paying myself first. Each week I would take $14 out of my weekly cash and put it in an envelope and date it. Soon I realized that I had more than enough to raise it to $3 a day and I have been stashing $21 a week aside ever since. Each time I get $500 I seal it up and put it away.

I have been doing this for close to 5 years now. It is a habit. I have a minimum  amount that I keep as an emergency fund and otherwise it is for the unexpected or single occurance things. I bought my son's HS ring from it, 4 new tires came from it and flowers for a funeral.

It is great comfort knowing that I have some cash on hand for when something happens.

Filed under:
  • Mon, Dec 1 2008 2:13 PM In reply to

Re: Rainy Day Cash

Karen, that's a really wonderful idea. Before you began this habit, did you wonder where you were going to that money from? Or did you decide to not think about it and just do it?

~~~~

Take care of the sense, and the sounds will take care of themselves.
    ~ Lewis Carroll

• Mon, Dec 1 2008 2:24 PM In reply to

• Toni B.
    • Top 25 Contributor
    • Joined on Sat, Apr 5 2008
    • Seneca Falls NY
    • Posts 3,826