Welcome to Dollar Stretcher Community Sign in | Join | Help
in Search

Decluttering my home.

Last post Sun, Aug 23 2009 10:16 PM by MarthaMFI. 54 replies.
Page 1 of 6 (55 items) 1 2 3 4 5 Next > ... Last »
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • Thu, Nov 20 2008 2:41 PM

Decluttering my home.

I was reading what some have said about decluttering and it gave me such a cumfort. I am dizzy trying to figure out how to part with things, and I know that mine is an emotional thing. As a child , and a teen my mom gave my things away, made me so frustrated , now as an adult it makes me upset when my husband sujest I get rid of whatever. I do not want to be attach. So if any one has any sujestions please help me. Thank you!! Iris

By the way hi, you all are an inspiration to me, and this is my first time posting. thanks again. Iris

• Thu, Nov 20 2008 2:53 PM In reply to

Re: Decluttering my home.

Hi, Iris. Welcome to the Forum!

I have major problems with clutter also. My husband and I are both packrats, and to make matters worse, he grew up in such a way that he hates to get rid of anything, even if it's completely broken or useless to us. We're both pretty bad about getting rid of what we aren't using.

I find helpful what the FlyLady website has to say about decluttering. Here is a link to that page. She offers some very specific directions on how to go about decluttering.   http://www.flylady.net/pages/FLYingLessons_Declutter.asp 

What I think is most helpful about that site are the following questions to ask yourself as you consider getting rid of an item.

• Do I love this item?
  • Have I used it in the past year?
  • Do I have another one that is better?
  • Should I really keep two?
  • Does it have sentimental value that causes me to love it?
  • Or does it give me guilt and make me sad when I see the item?