Welcome to Dollar Stretcher Community Sign in | Join | Help
in Search

a new gardener

Last post 03-13-2008 9:32 PM by Annie. 20 replies.
Page 1 of 3 (21 items) 1 2 3 Next >
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • 03-03-2008 8:46 PM

a new gardener

I am a newbie at self sufficient living.  I'd love to learn the basics for planting a small garden.   Any advice for an absolute beginner?  My family's decided I've lost my mind, but I really think I could plant atleast some herbs or basic vegetables.  I live in the Southwest.  When do I start?  Do I use compost or just a good soil?  Do I need to start the seeds indoors first?  What do I plant them in initially (If indoors)?  Any takers???

• 03-04-2008 8:51 AM In reply to

Re: a new gardener

Hi lyntorr,

Gardening in the southwest may differ some from Michigan, and I hope to find out soon.  One of the things my husband and I saved for was to buy land in NM, and we did that in 2006!  Our small parcel is up by Mora, NM, and we hope to semi-retire there in the upcoming years.  I love it there.  So beautiful.

Anyway, my advice is to start with a small bed and try easy-to-grow plants first.  In your bed I would use a mix of good soil and compost.  Tomatoes and peppers are easy to start from seed or you could buy small plants.  For herbs, some are harder to start from seed than others - you might buy small plants.  For flowers - zinnias, marigolds, cosmos are easy to start from seed.