Welcome to Dollar Stretcher Community Sign in | Join | Help
in Search

Washing Down 'n Feather Pillows

Last post 05-13-2009 5:46 PM by zohnerfarms. 10 replies.
Page 1 of 2 (11 items) 1 2 Next >
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • 02-24-2008 10:35 AM

Washing Down 'n Feather Pillows

I am washing mine for the first time today. I think the allergens trapped inside are getting to me (kept waking up with sinus issues!). I was able to wash both pillows in my agitator washer and used nothing but hot water (cold rinse) and vinegar. Pillow #1 is now in the dryer with 3 small dryer balls (medium heat). Pillow #2 is sitting crosswise on the lines in front of the furnace register until #1 is dry.

How long is it going to take for pillows to be dry?

How often do people really wash these pillows? (I saw a posting saying 1x a year; this is my first time in YEARS). 

I'm not confused. I'm just well mixed. ~Robert Frost
    Laziness may appear attractive, but work gives satisfaction. - Anne Frank
    I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me. Philippians 4:13

Married my Blessing 10-16-10 :)
    Became an Auntie 12-10-10 :)
  • 02-24-2008 11:04 AM In reply to

• Edey
    • Top 25 Contributor
      Female
    • Joined on 09-10-2007
    • Los Angeles County, CA
    • Posts 3,869

Re: Washing Down 'n Feather Pillows

Mine aren't feather pillows, but some kind of synthetic. I've never been able to wash them successfully, so buy new ones when necessary. Edey

Edey's Vintage and Current Needlework Blog

Life is like a quilt - it is made beautiful from all the little pieces stitched together.

Use a HandCranked tool, it doesn't need to be plugged in or charged up!

Treadle sewing machines. Get a workout and save electricity all at the same time. Plus it can go anywhere, even outdoors!

READ THE ARCHIVES! It'll do you good.
  • 02-24-2008 11:25 AM In reply to