Welcome to Dollar Stretcher Community Sign in | Join | Help
in Search

Slow Drain

Last post 02-12-2013 12:42 PM by Helene. 19 replies.
Page 1 of 2 (20 items) 1 2 Next >
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • 02-10-2013 11:24 AM

Slow Drain

Looking for some suggestions. I have a bathroom sink drain that is draining very slow. Ive tried all the "home" methods that I know of.....vinegar, hot water, baking soda. Its still slow. Any ideas that I am not familiar with? I am not a big proponent of commercial products like "drano" (so bad for the environment) so open to ideas. Thanks!!
  • 02-10-2013 12:27 PM In reply to

Re: Slow Drain

It might be clogged with hair.. Alot of times  hair will get stuck on the stopper and make a big hair clog that you can grab with a pair of tweezers. I have a lot of experience pulling large clumps of DD's very long hair out of the drain because it is slow. We have to clean the shower drain about once a week using the tweezers there too.
    Riley
  • 02-10-2013 12:31 PM In reply to

Mine gets clogged with hair too. I use long tweesers and try to remember to clean it out once a week. Babs
    Officially recognized Stretchpert in Prayer Circle
  • 02-10-2013 1:30 PM In reply to

I used needle nose pliers....that wasnt the problem here (I wish it was, easy to fix). However that works wonders on the shower drain.
  • 02-10-2013 1:33 PM In reply to

Take the drain top off in the tub and put a toilet snake down there.  If it is clogged up that may loosen the clog and get it free running again.  Otherwise you may have to call a plumber.  It could be tree roots in the main system blocking everything- speaking from experience here.

Sally

• 02-10-2013 1:39 PM In reply to