Welcome to Dollar Stretcher Community Sign in | Join | Help
in Search

The Dollar Stretcher Community has a new home!

Feel free to read the great frugal living tips, ideas and discussions readers and community members have posted here. But if you'd like to post something or start a discussion, please click here to go over to our new community site and create an account.

Please contact Brandy@stretcher.com for questions about these forums.

Raised bed Gardening

Last post Wed, Jan 30 2008 2:43 PM by Cinnamonhuskies. 22 replies.
Page 1 of 3 (23 items) 1 2 3 Next >
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • Sat, Jan 12 2008 6:16 PM

Raised bed Gardening

Is anybody out there into this?  I've been gardening in raised beds for years.  Found them to be very low maintenance which works great for me since I work full-time.  Kind of limited to what can be grown without going vertical.  Also start my own plants from seed- I love the challenge.  Sell the extra plants I don't use. I'm still learning so maybe you have some tips I don't know about.   

"If you want something then you lose everything. If you don't want anything then you already have everything." -Seung Sahn
  • Sat, Jan 12 2008 9:02 PM In reply to

• Pat
    • Top 10 Contributor
    • Joined on Tue, Mar 6 2007
    • Colorado
    • Posts 14,463

Re: Raised bed Gardening

I have two small raised bed gardens - here's a post from my blog about last year's crop:

http://patverettosfrugalliving.blogspot.com/2007/07/raised-bed-gardens.html 

Community Facilitator

Printable Coupons!

Smartsource and MySavings
  • Sun, Jan 13 2008 8:40 AM In reply to

Pat,    The link won't work for me. ( this could easily be a my-quirky-computer-only-problem : )

Raised bed gardening would be an ideal fantasy garden for me. The initial expense and work of framing and filling a raised bed is daunting. It would be wonderful to have raised beds for drainage and to warm the soil, as it's cold and wet here.