Welcome to Dollar Stretcher Community Sign in | Join | Help
in Search

What can I make with corn tortillas?

Last post Tue, Sep 25 2012 11:50 AM by LifeofRiley. 30 replies.
Page 1 of 4 (31 items) 1 2 3 4 Next >
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • Mon, Jan 7 2008 9:21 PM

What can I make with corn tortillas?

I am the proud recipient of 2 - 4 pound bags of 6" white corn tortillas. I've never used them before, only flour tortillas. What can I make with them?

Michelle in Northern Michigan

"Those who would surrender liberty for security deserve neither" - Ben Franklin

• Mon, Jan 7 2008 9:39 PM In reply to

• Edey
    • Top 25 Contributor
      Female
    • Joined on Mon, Sep 10 2007
    • Los Angeles County, CA
    • Posts 3,869

Re: What can I make with corn tortillas?

Enchiladas comes to mind. You make a filling of chopped meat, vegetables and maybe rice , put it about 2 tablespoons of filling (more or less) on each tortilla and roll up. Spray a 9x13 pan, lay in the stuffed tortillas, seam side down and then pour a sauce over, like canned enchilada sauce or a tomato sauce, a thinned white sauce or a can of cream soup thinned down. Bake at 375° for about 45 minutes.

I don't have an exact recipe because I just throw mine together with what I have on hand. There are many ways to make them and many recipes available on the internet recipes sites. E

Edey's Vintage and Current Needlework Blog

Life is like a quilt - it is made beautiful from all the little pieces stitched together.

Use a HandCranked tool, it doesn't need to be plugged in or charged up!

Treadle sewing machines. Get a workout and save electricity all at the same time. Plus it can go anywhere, even outdoors!

READ THE ARCHIVES! It'll do you good.
  • Mon, Jan 7 2008 10:01 PM In reply to

That's kind of how I throw leftover meat and cabbage into egg rolls. I do have canned pizza sauce, but maybe salsa would work too? I should pick up a can of enchalada sauce at the store and give it a try. Thanks!!