Welcome to Dollar Stretcher Community Sign in | Join | Help
in Search

smudges on dishes from a dishwasher?

Last post 01-13-2012 11:51 AM by babs. 13 replies.
Page 1 of 2 (14 items) 1 2 Next >
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • 01-12-2012 7:07 AM

smudges on dishes from a dishwasher?

We haven't changed the kitchen cabinets (or lack of) yet, and there is a VERY old Maytag dishwasher installed. It was my joy after 20 yrs of handwashing to finally have an automatic...although old and decrepit. But it is leaving smuginess on my dishes. Some come out ok, others look well...cloudy. We thought it needed rinse solution, but it has absolutely no spot to put a rinse aid. I remember when I was little my mom used to use these little Jet-Dry basket that hung in the dishwasher....apparantly they don't exist anymore.

Dh and i have no experience/knowledge whatsoever with automatic dishwashers. I have a newer although used model to put in its place when we replace the cabinets. I'd like to know how to use it properly do not to get cloudy or smudgy dishes.

Michelle in Northern Michigan

"Those who would surrender liberty for security deserve neither" - Ben Franklin

• 01-12-2012 11:08 AM In reply to

Re: smudges on dishes from a dishwasher?

does it need a cleaning?  or add vinegar?   I am always leary of the rinse aids ..why have a chemical left on your dishes.

Officially recognized Stretchpert in Hobbies and Crafts
  • 01-12-2012 1:06 PM In reply to

I would check the holes in the spray arms to make sure none are plugged up.  Do you notice whether the film is all over, or more on the dishes placed on the top or bottom rack?  That may give a clue also. Make sure nothing on the bottom rack is sticking up too high and preventing the spray arm for the top rack from turning around completely; I've had that happen before.

My dishwasher isn't very old, but isn't all that great either.  The only detergent I can use where I don't get any residue is the Finish gelpacs.

Carol
    western NC