Welcome to Dollar Stretcher Community Sign in | Join | Help
in Search

The Dollar Stretcher Community has a new home!

Feel free to read the great frugal living tips, ideas and discussions readers and community members have posted here. But if you'd like to post something or start a discussion, please click here to go over to our new community site and create an account.

Please contact Brandy@stretcher.com for questions about these forums.

Have you considered the need for "handy" type skills?

Last post Tue, Sep 28 2010 11:52 AM by Cinnamonhuskies. 5 replies.
Page 1 of 1 (6 items)
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • Sat, Sep 25 2010 2:49 AM

Have you considered the need for "handy" type skills?

How good are you at making mechanical repairs or carpentry or painting or any number of other skills needed around a home, especially a homestead?  I admit that I'm no mechanic, but I can read and understand manuals, etc. and I would really like to have some training in carpentry. I can set tile because I took a free course at Home Depot and read a lot about how to. I can slap paint on a wall and make it look OK, but I'm very inefficient at it. DH is not so handy either, although he has many other great and wonderful attributes. I'm thinking bartering for services might be an important skill to develop.  AM

• Sat, Sep 25 2010 7:22 AM In reply to

• swedluv
    • Top 50 Contributor
      Female
    • Joined on Sun, Jun 8 2008
    • North Carolina
    • Posts 1,713

Re: Have you considered the need for "handy" type skills?

I can paint pretty well, I can do minor pvc plumbing, I can do sheetrock work (a lil outta practice but can stil do it), Dh and I can install cabinets. Dh can do things like installing dishwashers, running water lines for dishwasher, icemaker, small stuff. I am gonna teach him to sheetrock. He can change out receptacles and light fixtures. It is all little stuff but has saved us quite a bit of money. I can also do small framing projects.

Lynn