Welcome to Dollar Stretcher Community Sign in | Join | Help
in Search

The Dollar Stretcher Community has a new home!

Feel free to read the great frugal living tips, ideas and discussions readers and community members have posted here. But if you'd like to post something or start a discussion, please click here to go over to our new community site and create an account.

Please contact Brandy@stretcher.com for questions about these forums.

She wants to move out; what does she need?

Last post Sat, Mar 27 2010 1:26 PM by SavySenior. 8 replies.
Page 1 of 1 (9 items)
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • Thu, Mar 4 2010 11:18 AM

• Pat
    • Top 10 Contributor
    • Joined on Tue, Mar 6 2007
    • Colorado
    • Posts 14,463

She wants to move out; what does she need?

Question from a reader:

I am currently in my first year of college and have started a more or less long term job. I am making, as of now, $7.75 (with much room for improvement)an hour and im just under working full time. I am getting to a point in my life that I want to move out of my parents house and live on my own but I dont even know where to start! First things first, i'd like to know how much I should have initialy before moving out. Secondly, How much should I budget for in a month? (apartment, food, gas ext.)and lastly is it better to get a room mate?

Community Facilitator

Printable Coupons!

Smartsource and MySavings
  • Thu, Mar 4 2010 11:58 AM In reply to

Re: She wants to move out; what does she need?

I think a lot depends on where the reader lives. Different regions have different costs of living.