Welcome to Dollar Stretcher Community Sign in | Join | Help
in Search

New to EBT (Balance Unchanged)

Last post 07-06-2009 3:35 PM by Deborahmichelle. 7 replies.
Page 1 of 1 (8 items)
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • 07-04-2009 1:42 AM

New to EBT (Balance Unchanged)

Hello all, I am new to the EBT program, I went down to the Fresno Ca. office on 5-28-09 and applied for the EBT food stamp program. I was approved and received my EBT card that day with a balance of $225.00. $25.00 for the remaining month of may, and $200.00 for the month of June. When I used the card for a purchase on July 2, I noticed that the balance had not changed from the month of June, I called the number on the card, and the EBT system confirmed that the balance on the card had not changed. I went to the Fresno office today to see my case worker, but the office was closed today due to the holiday. (Independence Day) Does any body know why this happened? My first thought was that Arnold Schwarzenegger stopped the program, but I found no evidence of that. Thanks
  • 07-04-2009 7:56 AM In reply to

Re: New to EBT (Balance Unchanged)

Hello..when you say your balance had not changed, how do you know this? Did you look online, call the number on the card, or look on your receipt? The receipt should say "balance". I am sure that the program was not discontinued..you would have been notified or it would have been on the news. They can't just suddenly do that. Maybe the grocery machine made an error. Try making a purchase today and see what happens. I am curious to hear exactly what your receipt says.
  • 07-04-2009 7:59 AM In reply to

Your "refill" date may not have arrived yet. Depending on how the system works, the new balances are added on specific days of the month. They are not always the day you applied or were approved. I have one friend who gets reloaded on the 7th and one on the 15th of each month. Do you now your "reload" day?

Lynn

• 07-04-2009 12:39 PM In reply to

• brenl