Welcome to Dollar Stretcher Community Sign in | Join | Help
in Search

First time on SNAP Missouri

Last post Thu, Jul 14 2011 3:24 PM by Deborahmichelle. 3 replies.
Page 1 of 1 (4 items)
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • Tue, Jul 12 2011 1:31 PM

• twinsmom
    • Not Ranked
    • Joined on Tue, Jul 12 2011
    • Posts 1

First time on SNAP Missouri

Hi everyone. Firstly, I want to say how helpful and informative these forums are. I've spent my entire morning reading & learning so much! Looking forward to getting even more familiar with everyone & this wonderful resource. Secondly, I am brand new to using any form of gov't assistance and I'm completely at a loss. My caseworker has given me no information about how to use the card, but from reading everything so far, I think I have a good idea. My main question is - when I go to the grocery store and I use the card in the POS, what if I have toilet paper/paper towels/pet food or something I need to buy as well? Do I need to do this as an entire separate transaction or can I include everything in one transaction and the EBT card will only put through the legit items and then I can pay for the other items in this same transaction on my debit card? (Does that make sense?) I know this probably seems like a really silly question but I just don't want to put everything together in check-out and then not have any of it go through. Thanks so much for your help and all of this great info.
  • Tue, Jul 12 2011 3:10 PM In reply to

• grame
    • Top 50 Contributor
      Female
    • Joined on Tue, Feb 22 2011
    • Kingdom of Callaway
    • Posts 1,950

Re: First time on SNAP Missouri

Twinsmom - no your questions are not silly.  You do not need to separate your items.  When done, your EBT amount will come up first and after you have used your card, then the cash amount due will come up.

If the twins are young enough, are you getting WIC?  There should also be a food pantry in your area.