Welcome to Dollar Stretcher Community Sign in | Join | Help
in Search

Baking Bread Basics?

Last post 07-10-2011 4:41 PM by sissy. 17 replies.
Page 1 of 2 (18 items) 1 2 Next >
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • 07-09-2011 4:35 PM

Baking Bread Basics?

Karen K. I hope you see this one.

THANK YOU in advance to all who read this and respond. God bless you.

I am a complete novice to baking my own bread. I am interested in making savoury breads and an occassional sweet bread. I do not have much experience with baking in general, let alone bread. I have tried to make things in the past and ended up with burn bottoms or edges or uncooked dough in middle. It's turned me off and I have a mild fear of baking now - afraid I'm going to fail and waste. I know it sounds silly to be afraid of baking but too many burn buttoms have a semi confident cook to turn into a bashful baker...

Okay so I've got issues, we all do, but one issue is I won't keep white flour in my house. It's now become an OCD thing and I refuse to get near it... I want to use other, healthier, flours for bread making that will hold up and not turn into a disaster. I know not all flours are made equally. Basic white or whole wheat (whole wheat flavor for fresh bread hasn't done much for me) are not prefered. I have unused barley flour here which I bought a month or so ago and haven't used. Before I bought that, I hadn't bought flour in YEARS. I lost count how long. I have no idea which flours are exceptable for bread making... oat? quoina? barley? nut and seed flours? etc.?